Second Life: A Global Art Community….

Hi my friends. Wanted to Say Happy New Years!!!

Wanted to run something by you and see if I can get some helpful advice. I am going to be writing my Masters Thesis in Art History, on Art in Second Life. I would love some feedback. Here is a brief explanation of what I am thinking….

This study examines the global online art community of Second Life and discusses the diverse artists and artwork as a motivating force in todays postmodern artworld. This art community shares many similar traits with 1920’s behemian Paris, where artists converged in collaborative art scene….
Whether Second Life thrives and evolves or has a virtual death, the here and now of these artists is real. They strive to create, to collaborate, to experience, and explore. As Artists have done for centuries, they continue to use the tools that are available, technology that pushed boundaries.

14 thoughts on “Second Life: A Global Art Community….

  1. hi just wondered if you had been to artemisa? i have a booth there and it is a unique environment with a lot of creativity.
    tha sim is owned by an artist who wants to promote that creative atmosphere

  2. Hi Gracie —

    I think it is a great idea and will give some thought to what you are proposing. But two people you should definitely speak with are Xander Ruttan, the designer of Cetus Gallery District, and Cecil Hirvi, and in-world artist (if you don’t already know him). They both have a lot to say on this subject —

    Good luck — I’m doing mine at this time as well, and am very sorry I didn’t get into SL long enough before I had to turn in my idea! I would love to have done something SL-related.

    AnnaLise Peccable (SL)

  3. Hi Gracie – be sure to contact DanCoyote Antonelli, SiteArm Madonna, Sasun Steinbeck, Ravenelle Zugzwang, Juria Yoshikawa, Edo Autopoiesis, ElrosTuominen and me, ZeroOne Paz 🙂

  4. Hey Gracie….I wish you luck on your thesis. Almost every artist I know I owe to either you or Jordan so I’m sorry I can’t be of much help there. The only couple of people I can think of who might not be in your list would be Adian and Lir. Both are artists in sl and rl. I know you know Adian and Lir is an rl friend of Mal’s. I think his sl name is Liriel McMahon but I always call him Lir so I could be wrong…lol. Anyway back to my rl *pouts* See you soon! 🙂 And Hooo! Happy New Year if I don’t see you before.

  5. Hey Gracie! This is a subject that I’m sure many of us contemplate… I’ve done some independent studies of my own on the history of computer-generated art, and it’s been fascinating watching how it’s grown and changed over the years. A few websites you might want to check out for a look at digital art history in general are the Database of Virtual Art (http://www.virtualart.at), Digital Art History: A Subject in Transition (http://books.google.com/books?hl=en&id=VdX6MYM0bHEC&dq=computer+art+history&printsec=frontcover&source=web&ots=xdM6eEwDMu&sig=Cx-IQtVuZ_TzLM2dr_crfzaYLoM#PPP1,M1), and the Digital Art Museum’s “history” and “artists” tabs (http://dam.org/intro.htm). I can’t claim to be an expert on Second Life’s art history, but I’d be more than happy to sit down and hear what you have to say on the subject and shoot the breeze with you to help brainstorm 😀 Have a safe and happy new year, Gracie!

  6. Pingback: Art Student Needs Help with Thesis « Around the Grid with Harper

  7. Having written a masters thesis myself I recommend that you ground your work in art history in a recognized field of performance, experimental, new media, transmedia, or conceptual art. Look at the way SL parallels the research work in any or all of those fields (recognized by your department) and draw your original conclusions. A solid and positive mentor/adviser in contemporary art will save you semesters of academic work. Good luck.

  8. Hi Gracie,

    I’m wondering by what criteria you are defining art in Second Life. On a meta-level, every piece of user-created content in SL is a sort of Digital Art though admittedly a great deal of it falls into the category of “folk art” and not “fine” art. In some ways the 3D aspect of SL opens up the perceived media so greatly that it’s a whole new world, artistically speaking.

    I saw a real life piece several years ago that was constructed of large cut and fitted crystal glass obelisks (some close to 7 feet/~2 meters high) and huge canvases hung on the surrounding walls, along with a musical accompaniment and special lighting. Visitors were allowed to walk through the piece. Shamefully I can’t remember the artist’s name, sorry about that. It was a wonderful 3D art experience IRL, but in SL you can take that concept of art expanding off the canvas and out of the sculpture and go even further with it. It’s even more accessible in some ways, but in the end, it’s all digital media.

    Okay, I’ll stop typing at you for now. Good luck with your thesis project. 🙂

  9. An interesting experiment would be to pick a particular set of social/artistic collaborations from 1920’s Paris, identify the environmental, social, political, philosophical, and aesthetic catalyst/s that set the works into motion and led to their high visibility success, then create an updated but parallel conditions in which sl artists to come together. If the setup is parallel enough, and well documented, you can compare and contrast the dynamics that result. It would help pinpoint the similarities and differences, and clarify the strengths and weaknesses of the virtual community of sl, and possibly lead to follow-up experiments that explore any hypotheses that develop out of the first.

  10. Pingback: The Grid Live » Second Life News for January 1, 2008

  11. Just wanted to alert you to an opening this coming Saturday by an artist that I think exemplifies some of the behaviors you’re describing – Douglas Story and several others collaborated on an “only possible in virtual worlds” piece called DynaFleur, and the creators will be available this Saturday, 1/5 at a reception if you’d like to speak to them.

    Best of luck with your thesis, look forward to reading it!

  12. Funny, I was just saying yesterday that I felt a 1920s artist’s salon atmosphere in my SL groups at http://www.flickr.com I am passionate about SL photography, and frustrated that even close friends of mine look down their nose, as if my efforts are not toward “serious art.” The comments and feedback I get from fellow SL snappers at FLickr are extremely encouraging, and a quick check there will show a buzz of shared techniques, places to go, outfits to buy, et cetera. With SL I get the tools to explore this amazing new art technique, but through Flickr I get the much needed camaraderie to keep going with an art form that is largely still unrecognized. my photos are at http://www.flickr.com/photos/xannaziskey

  13. Hi Gracie

    Love your thesis idea, best of luck with it!!! I totally support you in all ways, and am very proud of you and your accomplishments! Keep up the good work as I look forward to getting to know you better and experiencing your great work! You continue to inspire and impassion me!
    Yours always

    Bruskino

Leave a Reply

