Ice cream is easy. Life is Hard…

Gracie- What’s up?

Kris- Oh, another day another dollar.

G- Hmmmm well you’re just lucky to have a job.

K- Oh yea, I’m not complaining. I don’t mind. I just wish I could concentrate on art more. I have so many ideas going through my head, I feel I don’t have enough time in the day to do everything I wanted.

G- Sounds to me like those high expectations of yourself are coming into play again. You can only do so much.

K- Yea I know, I know.

G- So I was looking at today, day 27.

K- Yea?

G- Yea. What’s going on? Why compare us like that?

K- Well yesterday I weighed myself at work.

G- Oh geez. Not a good sign.

K- No it wasn’t. Remember a couple weeks ago, when i said I didn’t want to go above 200 lbs?

G- Ummm yea?

K- Well, I did. Yesterday I weighed 206.7 lbs.

G- Oh you had to add that extra .7 in there did ya?

K- Well, yea!! Although hopefully that is just water weight..haha

G- So why are you telling me this?

K- Oh I don’t know.. because it’s on my mind. I looked back and found in March of this year, I only weighed 165. So I gained 41 lbs.

G- 41.2

K- You’re so funny!!

G- Yea, I know 😀   Seriously though, what are you thinking? I mean you had to know that eating all that ice cream and those bags of M&M’s would make you fat.   Do you know why I’m not fat?

K- Ummmmm, because you can’t eat?

G- Ok, well besides that fact? By the way, thank you for pointing that out Ms. Smartypants!!

K- Well I guess I have to say, because I don’t want you to be fat.

G- Yes, exactly. Why can’t you use that same thinking for yourself?

K- I know, you’re right, but much easier said than done.

G- Sighs!!! It’s all in your mind. Just think about it.

3 thoughts on “Ice cream is easy. Life is Hard…

  1. Loving the last photo. Very imaginative! Have you tried keeping a food diary? It’s amazing what you see when it is written down and helps you visualize what you eat. It will give you more motivation to cut down.

    • Yea, I’ve thought about it in the past, but could never keep it up. Maybe I’ll consider it now though as part of the project. Thx for the suggestion 🙂

  2. Hi Kris and Gracie,

    I wanted to make sure that I read this before the critique tomorrow not only because this is an integral part of your work right now but also to let you know that your peers are interested in the full scope of your work. For me it is not a lack of interest in giving you the feed back you want but perhaps an inability on my part to speak (especially in writing) publicly about the very personal struggles going on in your life. My instinct is to try to find a way to hopefully make you feel better about yourself because you are a talented , bright, hard working working woman from what I have seen this last few months. So how can I talk to you about the work without the aspect of feeling invasive? I suppose that would be something I need to work on. I like the fact that you have brought yourself more into the work and the photos are becoming more and more natural/connected each day. I am a strong believer in the “just keep shooting” concept, you and the camera will build something together. One last thought about the food diary that was mentioned what if that was part of your daily discussions with Gracie? Not only will it be right there for you to see everyday but then it is also connected with this public approach that might allow your friends and family to give you daily support. See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

