The Treachery of Images? Ceci n’est pas…

So I had joined InWorldz a while ago. I created an account with the name Gracie Kendal. That is who I am online, and I didn’t want to be anyone else.

I have only been inworld maybe a handful of times. Each time I tried to find an avatar a look that I could comfortably BE Gracie kendal in. I knew I wouldn’t be able to look just like her. For months she has roamed around InWorldz in a demo shape, demo skin, a pair or Trill’s Boho pants and a t-shirt. No hair and weird eyes.

So today was the day I wanted to go inworld and check out the InWorldz Dreamz & Visionz Art Festival 2011. My friend Nikki had entered and I wanted to be there for her. I went in early and looked around for an avatar that was non-human. I ended up buying a mouse avatar, a horse and a dragon avatar. None of them really ‘fit’ me. The horse avatar came with a black skin. I thought ‘aha’ I will just go around in a black  skin, a ghost or shadow of Gracie Kendal.

As I was looking at this  avatar in front of me, I wondered if I could put any type of texture on the skin. So I uploaded one of my paintings put it on my skin…and OMG It was like a huge lightbulb went off over my head. This changes EVERYTHING!!! (well almost everything!!)

These photos were taken at “A Space for Visions: Installation” by Nickola Martynov & Micheil Merlin

 

2 thoughts on “The Treachery of Images? Ceci n’est pas…

  1. Hey Gracie. I love your blog. I joined Second Life a few months back and I did what everyone does and titivated up a perfect little girl. Why wouldn’t I? Don’t we all wish we had the change to do it all again as we’d have wished it to be. I am a bit artistic and I like things to look good. Also I dress her nicely 😛 so that she doesn’t look like a “strumpet”. (Lerve that word) She looks like a lady.

    The result is, however, she seems to be unbelieveably attractive to dopy males who try to hit on her and I’m not sure why but I suspect it’s because she’s not walking round wearing 3 smarties and a flower in her hair. What are they thinking?

    But here’s the thing, I’m old. Decrepit even. I’ve have been big for a while too, because I’m mostly in a wheel chair now. That’s probably all the more reason why the “me” inside still wants to enjoy life and has a yen to dress up, dance, socialize while at the same time having to learn about having strong boundaries, how to be able to stand the disapproval I get if I don’t agree to do what I’ve been asked, how to not to fold and “go along” when men want things from the avi, how to not to get too emotionally involved while at the same time learning how not to sit up all night doing all these things! :P.

    Time and again though, I’ve just been amazed at the free ride “beautiful people” must get and time and again. I’m just try to work out what does it all mean?

    It’s unbelievable that something as cheap and fleeting as looks (they “fleet” I was Grace Kelly gorgeous in my youth, believe me – but married young, lost self esteem almost immediately by bullying husband, so never knew that buzz of being able to say and do anything and get utter approval from men). How silly are they? It’s me pulling those strings.

    • Thank you so so much for your lovely comment!!! Every day I ask the same questions. I figure I will forever be searching for a balance between beauty, intelligence and both real and virtual lives. Have a fabulous day!!!

Leave a Reply

