“Binge and Purge” an installation by Kristine Schomaker (Gracie Kendal)

LEA1_009

I have a new project. Did I tell you??? I recently received a virtual land grant, equal to $1500 USD for 5 months, in the 3D online virtual world of Second Life. In this space, I am going to create a huge conceptual installation called “Binge and Purge” by emptying out and deleting EVERYTHING from my inventory (virtual closet/life). I have been a resident of Second Life for almost 7 years, so there are a lot of memories. Since the virtual space is limited with how much I can set out (rez), I am going to replace objects every 2-3 weeks until I have nothing left. I mean EVERYTHING will be gone. After this 5 month ‘performance’ the only things I will have left are the clothes on Gracie’s back.

Imagine, in your real/physical life, if you got rid of (purged)  everything you own; your car, your home, your books, music, computer, phone, furniture, heirlooms, art, valuables, jewelry, photographs, tools, linens, files, bikes and more.The only thing  you had left in the world  are the clothes, shoes and accessories you were wearing. What would you do?How would you feel?

My first thoughts on this installation include ideas of spectacle, curiosity, voyeurism. exhibitionism, temptation, public vs private, memory and nostalgia.

It is also about the collections one creates whether virtual or physical. It’s about the identities we form based on the items that we buy/obtain and the meaning behind them.

It is about my eating disorder. It is about recovery and letting go. It is about change and rediscovery.

Rules of the game:

  • Buy Buy Buy. I will spend the 20,000L I currently have in Second Life until it is gone. (Done)
  • I will rez 15000 prims worth of ‘stuff’ from my inventory every 2-3 weeks. (Sunday morning 9am SLT/PST)
  • after the 2-3 weeks, I will delete all 15000 prims. (This will include all my art, presents, furniture, houses, clothes, pictures, notecards, landmarks, calling cards, collected art, etc) EVERYTHING.
  • I will take pictures of my inventory window/the interface after each purging
  • Each Binge and Purge will be documented through filming and photography.
  • Everything I own in Second Life will be on this sim and eventually deleted.
  • Then what?

The performance starts Sunday August 11th at 9am slt. Come on over and be there when I rez 15000 items from my inventory. Be part of the experience.

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/LEA16/111/111/21

30 thoughts on ““Binge and Purge” an installation by Kristine Schomaker (Gracie Kendal)

  1. As I work on clearing out the Disaster Area, this particular project hits very close to home. Last night I actually cried as the last of the shoes and boots were picked up — not for the “things” but for what they meant at one point…..

  2. Don’t take so much time, dump all your shit in 10 minutes and give me your money. When I want to see someone cleaning up I will run behind a garbage truck.

  3. Yea, it is going to be quite interesting to see what I find and to say goodbye to so many things I have collected over the years. I have original/limited edition works of art, clothes from stores that are no longer around, old art installations that I can never recreate the same. (my 1000avatars project, that whole installation will be gone. It will be crazy to see how it happens.

  4. I didn’t know it also ment you are cleaning out your friends. Thats getting a little bit dictator like, or am I wrong?

  5. Pingback: “Binge and Purge” a performance opening today 9am slt!! » Second Culture

  6. Two years ago, I went through this experience, but not by my own choice. 30,000 items from my inventory were deleted and not by my choice.

    I know it’s just pixels, and on a real-world philosophy, it’s just material baggage. But each item carried a memory of who made it, when I got it, how I used it, when I wore it. It staggered me to suddenly lose SO much.

    I got past it…. mostly. I still miss that three legged table made by a dear friend who is no longer inworld. I miss all the holiday cards and gifts from friends dating back to 2007. I miss the silly toys and vehicles I’d race around the grid on. It’s like a bit of my virtual mind got shredded away. It hurt. It hurt a lot.

    To voluntarily discard items that carry memories, the talent of others, beauty, fun, whimsy… it takes guts or insanity or both. Only Gracie knows what it will feel like to delete each item. We can only be bystanders and overlay our own feelings about this onto her actions. This is very subjective AND objective all at once.

    The overlay is the Art. Our emotions trying to grasp at her objects. Think about how this makes you feel, and why. And maybe you’ll find a grasping point of why this matters.

  7. Pingback: Gracie Kendal: Installasjon i Second Life | ninas myldreblogg

  8. Wow, I could so never do that, although I can imagine how liberating it must be going to be (not to mention an interesting art piece that I am now wandering in one temporal slice of).

    Oh, and for the packrats out there, if you hurry there is this nice pile of pallets for your warehouse build that’s free-to-copy! heehee

  9. Pingback: What does it mean to be one-of-a-kind in the digital world? | Kristine Schomaker

  10. WOW! Not sure the purpose, but i agree with CeeJay…only you will know what it feels like…and we will simply be observing.
    8 yrs in SL here and when I really give it a thought….I have no use for anything in my inventory other than ‘memory things’ and most of those are gone over time…..but since I haven’t really gone thru my inventory in the past 5 yrs. prob…I really have no idea what’s in there…I’m certain that it would shock me, terrify me, make me laugh and then I”d be done with it…..
    there is more to us than ‘inventory’
    🙂

  11. Pingback: #firstworldproblems | Kristine Schomaker

  12. Pingback: Being impulsive: A story of life and hope. | Kristine Schomaker

  13. Pingback: The Inventory Dance: Gracie Kendal’s “Binge and Purge” | slum magazine

  14. Pingback: Falling asleep in my chair… | Kristine Schomaker

  15. Pingback: Saying Good-bye… to Second Life, stuff! | Kristine Schomaker

Leave a Reply

